Kat Von D Chrysalis Eyeshadow Palette Review

Kat Von D recently released two palettes inspired by the metamorphosis of the butterfly. There’s the Monarch Palette (warm tones) and the one that I picked up, the Chrysalis Palette (cool tones). I think the first thing I noticed was the gorgeous packaging. It features a cardboard palette with a magnetic closure. The butterfly on the outside is gorgeous and even has little skull details on the wings.

Kat Von D

Kat Von D 2

 

The shadows inside are just as gorgeous as the packaging. It features 12 cool-toned shadows (5 matte, 7 shimmers) and they all compliment each other very well. There is also three larger shadows that have already come in really handy for me since Lifelife and Lucid both resemble two MAC shadows that I use constantly (Vanilla and Yogurt). The pigmentation of these is wonderful (as you can see from the swatches below), and they are also very soft and buttery. Because they are so soft, they do tend to flake a bit when you pick up the color with a brush, but I’ve found that this same thing happens with most Kat Von D shadows. However, their quality is so good that it’s not something that would detour me from purchasing her palettes at all. In fact, I own four of them now, and haven’t been disappointed yet!

One thing I really like about this palette is that it offers enough matte and shimmer shadows to be able to do a full look. So often I find palettes that don’t have any matte colors to blend with, so I end up using shadows from other palettes. This palette offers 5 different matte shades, three of them being great colors to blend with.

KVD Swatches

All swatches are just one swipe of shadow on bare skin with no primer in natural light

The bottom line is, I really, really like this palette. Usually when I get a palette I will use it for a few days, then I will get bored of it and move on to something else until I rediscover it months later. That simply hasn’t been the case with this palette. I’ve used it non-stop since I purchased it, and I’ve gotten compliments every single day!

The Kat Von D Chrysalis palette can by purchased at Sephora or at Sephora’s website http://www.sephora.com/chrysalis-eyeshadow-palette-P385529?icid2=Kat_Von_D_WhatsNew_Carousel_P385529_image for $46.

xoxo Kara

Leave a Reply

